Colorado Criminal Defense and Personal Injury Attorneys
According to the City of Boulder, robbery offenses in the city have increased over the past five years. In 2014, there were 28 robberies, compared to 37 in 2018. Robbery in Colorado is defined as knowingly stealing from another person by use of force, intimidation, or threats. There are three “levels” of robbery in the state: robbery, aggravated robbery, and robbery of controlled substances, with each having serious consequences. If, however, you were taking something that belonged to you (unless you used force, threats or intimidation to do so), or you were returning an item to its rightful owner, then you could not be charged with robbery. If the property is taken outside the presence of the owner of the property, then the charge would likely be burglary, rather than robbery. If you or someone you love has been arrested for robbery anywhere in Colorado, contact our Boulder robbery defense lawyers today for experienced, dedicated help.
If there were no aggravating factors involved in the robbery, the charge is a class 4 felony, punishable by up to 6 years in prison and a fine as large as $500,000. Individuals convicted of robbery must also complete a mandatory three years of parole. If the victim of the robbery was either disabled or elderly, the penalties are enhanced, and the convicted person could be sentenced to up to 12 years in prison and a fine as large as $500,000. Robbing an elderly or disabled person brings a mandatory prison sentence of at least four years, with a mandatory five-year parole upon release.
If an individual possesses a deadly weapon, wounds or strikes another person with a deadly weapon, threatens or intimidates another person with a deadly weapon, or is armed with a deadly weapon and has an intent to kill, maim or wound in the face of resistance, then aggravated robbery may be charged. Robbery of a controlled substance is aggravated robbery with the purpose of stealing controlled substances from a pharmacy. The penalties for aggravated robbery are up to 16 years in prison and a fine as large as $750,000, with a mandatory parole sentence of five years. If anyone was seriously injured during the act of aggravated robbery, the maximum prison sentence is 32 years.
Aggravated robbery of a controlled substance is a class 2 felony with potential criminal penalties of up to 48 years in prison and a fine as large as $1,000,000. Aggravated robbery of a controlled substance also requires a mandatory five-year parole. Because the penalties for all types of robbery are so severe in the state of Colorado, it is imperative that you speak to a knowledgeable Boulder criminal defense attorney as quickly as possible.
If you or someone you love has been arrested and charged with robbery in Boulder or anywhere in the state of Colorado, you need an aggressive criminal defense law firm on your side. Your attorney will need to immediately begin building a solid defense against these serious charges. Don’t delay in calling a knowledgeable Boulder criminal defense attorney from the Mertes Law Firm who can guide you through the process, looking out for your rights and your future. Call us today at 303-440-0123.
For a free confidential consultation