scroll down

Colorado Criminal Defense and Personal Injury Attorneys

Free Consultation : (303) 440-0123
stars

Assault

line

Assault

Boulder Assault Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested for assault in Colorado, it is important to understand the severity of these charges and the penalties and consequences you could face if you are convicted. Colorado prosecutors waste little time in prosecuting these crimes aggressively and without legal representation from an experienced Boulder assault defense attorney, you could face significant time behind bars, as well as the loss of many of your civil rights. Understanding this crime is the key to building a solid defense and protecting your future. 

Assault Laws in Colorado

Assault in Colorado can either be  prosecuted in the first degree, second degree, or third degree. The prosecutor will determine the appropriate charges based on whether you used a deadly weapon at the time, the severity of the injury or risk, and whether the victim was performing a service at the time of the assault. They will also examine your intent and whether you intended to seriously injure the victim.

  • First Degree Assault – this is the most serious and occurs when you intend to cause injury and do cause injury to someone with a deadly weapon. To be convicted of this crime, it takes extreme intent to injure, actual injury,  and the use of a deadly weapon.
    • Penalties for assault in the first degree include 10-32 years in prison and fines up to $750,000.
  • Second Degree Assault – this occurs when you intend to and do injure another person without the use of a deadly weapon.
    • Penalties for assault in the second degree include 2-6 years in prison and fines up to $500,000.
  • Third Degree Assault – occurs when you knowingly cause bodily injury to another person with criminal negligence.
    • Penalties for assault in the third degree include 6-24 months in jail and fines up to $5,000.

As you can see, the difference between being convicted of first-degree assault and second-degree assault is significant. As such, it is extremely important to have an experienced and aggressive criminal defense lawyer on your side as soon as you are arrested. Your criminal defense attorney will need to examine all the evidence and the details of your arrest to help you build a strong defense that can expose the holes in the prosecution’s case against you.

Some examples of defenses your criminal defense lawyer could use to have the assault charges against you reduced or dismissed include:

  • Sudden heat of passion
  • No use of a deadly weapon
  • You didn’t intend to hurt or harm anyone
  • You didn’t act recklessly
  • You were acting in self-defense

Contact a Boulder Assault Defense Attorney Today

Mertes Law Logo - Boulder Assault Defense AttorneysIf you’ve been arrested and charged with domestic violence, it is important to fight these serious charges aggressively to protect your future. WIthout an attorney on your side, you may find yourself facing a lengthy prison sentence, as well as the loss of your civil rights. Don’t delay in calling a knowledgeable Boulder criminal defense attorney from the Mertes Law Firm who can guide you through the process while safeguarding your future. Call us today at 303-440-0123.   

dummy

contact us

For a free confidential consultation

hexagon