scroll down

Colorado Criminal Defense and Personal Injury Attorneys

Free Consultation : (303) 440-0123
stars

Drug Charges

line

Drug Charges

Boulder Drug Possession Attorney

When Colorado legalized the possession and recreational use of marijuana in the state, many believed that they would also relax their position on drug possession in general. However, this has not been the case. The possession of most controlled substances in Colorado is still a felony offense. Even the smallest amounts of cocaine or meth amphetamines can result in significant time behind bars. If you’re facing drug charges, it’s imperative that you contact an experienced Boulder drug possession attorney as soon as possible so that you can learn what your options are. 

Controlled Substance Schedules 

Colorado classifies controlled substances separately and each scheduled drug results in different crime classifications and penalties. 

  • Schedule I: heroin, LSD
  • Schedule II: opium, codeine, methamphetamine
  • Schedule III: hydrocodone
  • Schedule IV: lorazepam
  • Schedule V: OTC cold medications with small amounts of codeine

The penalties for possession of these substances depends largely on the schedule drug, the amount of drug in your possession, whether there was intent to sell, whether you’re a habitual offender, and whether you were within close proximity to a school. 

If you are convicted of drug possession, you may serve anywhere from six months to up to 32 years in prison for your crime. 

  • Level 4 Drug Felony – possession of any amount Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 controlled substance 
    • 6 months to 1 year in prison 
    • $1,000 to $100,000 fines
    • Mandatory parole of 1 year
  • Level 3 Drug Felony – selling a controlled substance of not more than 14 grams of Schedule 1 or Schedule 2 drug
    • 2-4 years in prison
    • $2,000 to $500,000 fines
    • Mandatory parole of 1 year
  • Level 2 Drug Felony – selling a controlled substance of more than 14 grams but not more than 225 grams of any Schedule 1 or 2 drug
    • 8 to 16 years in prison
    • $3,000 to $750,000 in fines
    • Mandatory parole of 2 years
  • Level 1 Drug Felony – selling controlled substances (more than 225 grams) or selling marijuana to minors 
    • 8 to 32 years in prison
    • $5,000 to $1 million in fines
    • Mandatory parole of 3 years 

A Criminal Defense Attorney Can Help

If you have been arrested for drug possession or drug distribution, it is important to know that you can fight these serious charges. First-time offenders and those with small amounts of drugs in their possession may be able to seek treatment in lieu of jail time. An experienced drug possession attorney in Boulder can push to have you enter the Colorado drug diversion program instead of going to jail. There may also be specialized drug courts, Veterans Treatment Centers, and deferred sentencing for drug offenders. 

Contact Our Boulder Drug Defense Lawyers Today

Mertes Law logo | Boulder Drug Possession AttorneyIf you or someone you love has been arrested and charged with possession of drugs in Boulder, it is important to know that you are not alone. There are ways you can fight these charges and have them reduced or even dismissed altogether. Don’t delay in calling a knowledgeable Boulder criminal defense attorney from the Mertes Law Firm who can guide you through the process, looking out for your rights and your future. Call us today at 303-440-0123.    

dummy

contact us

For a free confidential consultation

hexagon