scroll down

Colorado Criminal Defense and Personal Injury Attorneys

Free Consultation : (303) 440-0123
stars

Consequences of a DV Charge

line

Consequences of a DV Charge

Did you know that Colorado is a mandatory domestic violence arrest state? If the police suspect you of domestic violence, even if the victim doesn’t want to press charges, you will be arrested. In fact, they are required to arrest you.

For example: if a neighbor calls the police because of a noise complaint and the police arrive and see signs of a physical fight or turmoil between you and your spouse, they can – and will arrest you. Even if your spouse says that nothing happened or that they’re fine, Colorado police officers are obligated to arrest you.

Once you are arrested, this will trigger a mandatory restraining order. Even if the complaint wasn’t accurate or true, you will be unable to return home or see your family until your case is heard in court.

The consequences of a domestic violence conviction are serious. If you are convicted of another crime and domestic violence is involved, such as assault or battery, you will may face the following additional penalties and consequences:

  • Completion of a domestic violence treatment program
  • Prohibited from owning and possessing firearms
  • Restraining order against alleged victim
  • Public restraining order registry

If you are convicted of domestic violence for the third time, you will be labeled a habitual domestic violence offender, which is a class 5 felony offense. You will then face additional consequences, including:

  • 1-3 years in Colorado prison
  • Fines up to $100,000

Even a mere accusation of domestic violence is enough to destroy your career, relationships, and your future. Unfortunately, not all accusations of domestic violence are founded. Some unscrupulous exes may make false accusations to gain the upperhand in divorce or custody proceedings or to get back at an ex for cheating or leaving them. When this occurs, it is important to know that you have rights. Even if you’ve been arrested and have a restraining order against you – it is important to speak to an experienced Colorado domestic violence lawyer immediately to protect your future. Without legal representation, you could face far-reaching consequences that could last a lifetime.

Contact Our Domestic Violence Criminal Defense Lawyers Today

If you’ve been arrested and charged with domestic violence, it is important to know the severity of these charges. Your future could be at stake and even an accusation of domestic violence is often enough to ruin careers and destroy relationships. Don’t delay in calling a knowledgeable Boulder criminal defense attorney from the Mertes Law Firm who can guide you through the process, looking out for your rights and your future. Call us today at 303-440-0123.    

 

dummy

contact us

For a free confidential consultation

hexagon